Three accused handed life imprisonment in Dr Imran Farooq Murder case


ISLAMABAD, June18: Anti-terrorism court Islamabad in its Dr Imran Farooq murder case decision handed life imprisonment and imposed a fine of Rs2 million on three accused, Shamim Khalid, Syed Mohsin Ali and Moazzam Ali . The court also directed the accused to pay Rs1m each to the deceased doctor’s family.

The court ruled that Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM) founder Altaf Hussain ordered the killing of the party’s senior leader Dr Imran Farooq, who was was stabbed to death outside his home in London in September 2010.

According to Judge Shahrukh Arjumand, during the trial of three arrested accused it was “proved that Altaf Hussain ordered the killing of Dr Imran Farooq”.

The court said that “it is expected from governments of Pakistan and UK that absconders [MQM founder Altaf Hussain, Iftikhar Hussain, Mohammad Anwar and Kashif Kamran] will be traced, arrested and brought before court as soon as possible.”

The court ruled that two senior party leaders based in London “conveyed Hussain’s orders to the relevant people in Pakistan”. The court said it had found that accused Moazzam Ali, another senior member working at Nine Zero (the headquarters of MQM in Karachi) and accused Khalid Shamim engaged accused Syed Mohsin Ali and Kashif Khan Kamran to execute Farooq.

“The two executors were properly facilitated who went with the sole purpose to London for committing the murder and as per pre-planned conspiracy, an innocent person was brutally murdered.

“The act of abettors and executors was preconceived with a design to intimidate and overawe the public in general and workers of MQM in particular so that in future no one can raise voice against Altaf Hussain, the leader of MQM,” the judgement stated.

“The motive thus for murdering Imran Farooq upon the orders of Altaf Hussain and other senior [MQM] leadership is proved because of his [Imran Farooq’s] strong position and services in the party.”

The judgement termed the case “historical in nature” as an agreement was made between two sovereign countries for sharing documentary evidence.

About the author